Sir Terry? Oh no.

The knighthood is a mistake.  I was shocked to hear that Terry Pratchett had been awarded a knighthood.

I love reading Pratchett’s books, as you know, and I think he is a wonderful author.  Is he deserving of the knighthood?  Absolutely, much more than all those bureaucrats who get their MBEs and OBEs every year.

But I don’t like the sound of it.  To start with, there’s his name. Terry.  It reminds me of  towels and bathrobes, things that are fluffy and white, but not particularly funny or intelligent.  Terry is just the perfect name for a Pomeranian. All right, maybe even a Shih Tzu or a Westie, but that’s as far as I will go.  I wouldn’t even go far as to include Lhasa Apsos – with their long hair, they are more Silky than Terry.   But however you look at it, “Terry” certainly does not fit 60 year old English writers, even if they are very funny.

Still, as names go, Terry is no worse than Chuck and Rod and Rob and Randy.  I can say these names with a straight face now, without stopping to wonder whether the name says something about the person.

But did the Queen then have to go and tack on a “Sir” to it?  My mind is still coming to terms with the idea of a “Sir Terry”.   Who or what, exactly, is a Sir Terry? A towel in shining armor? A beach towel that will win Olympic gold medals in fencing while saving bathers from crabs?

I must admit, though, whatever it is, it sounds straight out of a DiscWorld novel.

So Sir Terry is now a Commander of the British Empire.  It is, perhaps appropriate, given that the British Empire is now only as real as DiscWorld is.

Still, I wish the Queen had given Pratchett a more appropriate title.  I am inviting suggestions for appropriate titles here.  Maybe something like “Big Chief Wizard  Who Wields a Pen like a Paintbrush” ? Now, that would actually mean something.

13 thoughts on “Sir Terry? Oh no.

  1. “Who or what, exactly, is a Sir Terry? A towel in shining armor?”
    *rofl*

    Good point. I like your title better. Definitely. 🙂

    I am never going to think of Terry Pratchett the same way again 😉

  2. I think the point was to give him an honour while he could still appreciate or remember it. He has early stage Alzheimer’s :-/ I suppose in his case, what some other celebrity said is true: “Being famous is like having Alzheimer’s; they know you but you don’t have the foggiest who they are!”

    Give him while he’s still alive, you mean, as opposed to the general rule of honoring artists only after they’re dead? 😛
    The quote about celebrities is funny 😀

  3. “Big Chief Wizard Who Wields a Pen like a Paintbrush”

    Now, that is something that anyman would be proud of ! Quick..patent that..!

    🙂

    I should, right? 😀 Now, that’s a honor. What does a mere “Sir” mean?

  4. But this is just the icing on the cake for Sir Terence David John Pratchett

    I think Sir Terence has a better ring to it than Sir Terry, which is umpteen times better than Sir Bono.

    No, I haven’t read his books, will definitely check them out the next time I visit the library.

    Sir Terence does sound much better, of course, but it is some stranger I cannot recognize – a laconic, stiff upper-lipped Brit whom I cannot imagine indulgently describing a wastrel-wizard like Rincewind.

  5. Rise, Sir Terry (Towel)
    The mind boggles.
    Lalita must be chuckling away in the Great Beyond.
    She really loved his books, quoted them pretty often.

    I didn’t know that Lali loved Pratchett 🙂 It’s sad, I am getting to know her, and her posts, only after she passed away 😦

  6. Whether it’s Terry or Terrence, it sounds better than Bono or Bozo the Clown! 😀 Witty post, love it!

    Oh yes, and Bono, for some reason, reminds me of Bonobo, which is not good at all 😦

  7. Hmmm, funny post, although I had never heard of Terry. 🙂 Came to wish you a happy new year. 🙂

    Happy New Year to you too!! Thanks for the wishes 🙂

    You should read Practhett some time, he is hilarious, rich in irony and he does make you think.

  8. 🙂 Love that image of Sir Terry fighting crabs. Oh yes, your title is way better.

    Yes, that’s how (fighting crabs) I am going to think of him from now on 😉

  9. Yipee. I love his books too. But sir Terry? mmm. and Sir Pratchett is no improvement either. I wish parents would think of these while naming their kids. 🙂

    I completely agree 🙂 I wish parents would think before naming their kids. But hey, even Terence/ Terry is better than “Talullah does the Hula in Hawaii” 🙂

  10. Sujatha

    You rightly point out that he will always be called Sir Terence, such is the etiquette of addressing people with honours. Bono cannot use the honorific ‘Sir’; his honour is honorary, him being Irish and if he were to become British, he would be Sir Paul (from Paul Hewson).

  11. “Big Chief Wizard Who Wields a Pen like a Paintbrush”…
    ROFL!
    Sir Terry sounds just right for a man who created DiscWorld though.
    Imagine Rincewind becomes an apprentice to Sir Terry, the mighty warrior wizard/sorcerer who slashes his towel and swipes his enemies and leaves them to dry!

Leave a Reply

