I shouldn’t have upgraded to 2.7

In hindsight, upgrading to WordPress 2.7 was a mistake.

For starters, there is the “QuickPress” tab in my dashboard. Empty boxes – title, content, white space that jumps out at me every time I open my dashboard. It’s like an awkward silence which one wants to immediately fill up with a hundred words.

Then there are the drafts. Earlier, my half-written posts would be locked up in a dark closet, and I would only see them after a few months. At which point, it is easy to sigh dramatically at the staleness of the content, or find that I have completely forgotten the thread of my thinking. Hitting delete then becomes very easy. And yet, there are a hundred odd drafts still hiding in that closet.

Now they all seem to come out and jeer at me, especially the recent drafts. They come out in their best attire – complete with title and excerpt, all ready to get published.Β  I think they are jeering, but maybe they are just pleading,Β  and I don’t know how to face them every morning and tell them it’s not their day.

I fear that with this combined onslaught, I will end up being tempted, guilted and practically driven to blog a lot more than I’ve been doing lately.

Sigh. I should never have upgraded to WordPress 2.7 😦

10 thoughts on “I shouldn’t have upgraded to 2.7

  1. hi
    i upgraded too.
    at the top right hand corner, you have options for screen – you can turn off stuff that you don’t want to see. i have πŸ™‚

    h

    Thanks for the tip! I hadn’t realized I could minimize the tabs. Or, for that matter, that I could move them around πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ™‚ yeah, you have the option to remove or move any tabs around. i know how you feel about drafts, i have a few reeling to get published as well πŸ˜€

    Did the moving too πŸ˜€ I have no idea how I have accumulated so many drafts 😦

  3. After all the hype, 2.7 has been a disappointment for me as well so far. I liked the look of the old wordpress. There were a few things that i would have liked to see changed, but this new interface is so different.
    Not loving it yet. Maybe i will grow into wordpress 2.7.

    I liked the old color. This gray is too dull for me. I am yet to fully explore what changes they have made apart from the interface, and all I remember from the news releases is that some of my plugins will become redundant. I don’t expect too many real changes 😦

  4. When I see all your wordpress blogs, I’m so tempted to switch from blogspot. I think they are just so much more organized. And I love organized. Just nervous I think about losing the few readers I have πŸ™‚

    The unfortunate part about WordPress.com is that you can’t use Javascript. In your case, I think you cannot use quite a few of those nice widgets you have 😦

  5. Lekhni

    I finally upgraded to 2.7.1 (by now it is that and not 2.7).

    The rest I am indifferent to, but the ‘edit post’ or ‘compose’ box is so narrow I feel like constricting my elbows together while typing just to fit in. 😦

Leave a Reply

