A 3 am cricket match

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
but my inbox has a hundred unread messages
I better start replying, this will take ages.

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
but my feeds need reading, my blog needs updating
and all readers’ comments need responding.

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
but across the world, my friends are tweeting
shouldn’t I be replying, shouting out a greeting?

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
But a friend has come online to chat
My status is “Available” – too late to change that?

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
Now my eyes are groggy, I need some hot tea
A cup or two, or maybe even three

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
It’s 5 am now but I am ready for breakfast
Should I make idli, oatmeal or toast?

I woke up at 3 a.m.
to watch the cricket match
The match got washed out by the monsoon rain
but I got so much work done, I think I’ll do this again!

10 thoughts on “A 3 am cricket match

  1. I woke at 3 a.m
    to watch a cricket match
    Power was out and it was pitch dark
    An Indian story, this is rather stark !

    šŸ™‚

    That’s a good one šŸ˜€

  2. I heard there is a yoga teacher in Madras who claims he can teach certain exercises which will make you feel like you’ve slept for 8 hours when in fact you’ve slept for only 3 or 4. Specially designed for investment bankers, he says! Perhaps you can give him a try, too, and be super productive all the time!!

    I certainly need this teacher, I don’t feel like I’ve slept for 8 hours even when I have slept for 9 šŸ˜‰

  3. I woke up at 3 a.m.
    to watch the cricket match
    but i also need to read.
    of all this moh maaya, when will i get freed?

    Wow, you have converted that into a verse by Tulsidas or Surdas šŸ˜€

  4. šŸ˜€ good that at least you’ve completed your work.

    Oh yes, if we had 30 hours every day, I would somehow manage to get most of my work done šŸ˜‰

  5. Waking up at 3 am to watch test cricket???????? OH MY GOD!

    Yes šŸ˜¦ Sigh. The sacrifices we cricket fans in the US have to make šŸ˜¦

  6. Very nice. Ever read Vikram Seth’s The Golden Gate?

    Oh yes, a long time ago – more than a decade ago. Also, “All you who sleep tonight”, and I know that one by heart šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

