Presidential elections

I am tired of being on the campaign trail.
Ten more days to go. I cannot wait
for the elections to be over.

No, I am not running for President.
Not even Vice President, though
that is not saying much.

But R, I suspect, is the secret
political strategist
for some leading party.

For the last fourteen months
for four hours every evening
all we’ve watched is election coverage.

Then there are the blogs.
Politico, Huffington Post and RealClearPolitics.
Fivethirtyeight, Caucus and Raising Kane.

Drudge Report and? Weekly Standard
MyDD, Talking Points Memo and Daily Kos
Swampland, New Republic and the Fix.

Marc Ambinder, Ramesh Ponnuru
and Charlie Cook.
Peggy Noonan, Joan Walsh
and Anna Marie Cox.

But most of his research
is focused on Pollster
where he’s surely the
country’s leading expert.

Our conversations are all about
the differences in polling methods
between Rasmussen and Zogby.

Why IBD/TPP poll undersamples youth
and how the AP poll model
has 50% evangelicals.

Why “Likely Voter 1” model is flawed
and how voter registration
is 98% in Michigan.

Early voting demographics in Georgia,
the Reverse Bradley effect
and GOTV efforts by state.

Friends are questioned too
Will Prop 8 pass in CA
Will Obama win in PA
and will 270 come from VA?

I am tired of being on the campaign trail.
I wonder how I still
have all my hair.

And then I wonder
if this is how he is now
when he is not even a citizen

how much worse
it would be when he
actually gets to vote?

11 thoughts on “Presidential elections

  1. @ Lekhni

    Nirala called this ‘kenchua chhand’ 🙂 Good one.

    I don’t even live in the US, but this is exactly what I do with the politics of the UK, the EU, the US and India. Any advice that politics isn’t polite dinner party conversation topic or an ice-breaker is lost on me. I talk politics, walk politics and laugh politics to paraphrase the Big B. Badly. All the time. :-/

    So I can understand where R comes from.

    My sympathies are with you but only a bit. I figure R may be a great one to fight with over politics. 😉

    PS: One comment with 3 smileys. This must be a first for me.

    Lekhni: Sigh. Even my readers don’t sympathize with me 😦
    I wonder what R will do after Nov 4? 🙂

  2. Political junkies of the world, unite! You have nothing to lose but your hair. 😉

    Lekhni: You will not even lose your chains – you will be chained to your television and laptop 🙂

  3. LOL! When he does become a citizen, he will be jaded. Speaking from personal experience 🙂

    Lekhni: If he hasn’t changed in all these years, I wonder if citizenship will 🙂

  4. Lol, I see, in twitter and elsewhere, it’s people who cannot vote doing most of the talk!

    Lekhni: I suspect it’s also because most Indians we know cannot vote.

  5. Heh. I just wait for the election day to find out the results, instead of all this hand-wringing over polls and analysis from faux-pundits/experts. 😉

    And yes, it’s important to maintain one’s sense of humor, that’s why Daily Show and Colbert Report are a must during these days. 🙂

    Lekhni: You are right, the faux pundits are quite tiresome.
    I would add Leno and SNL to the comic relief 🙂

  6. I don’t watch much of the election coverage and am not a US Citizen, but I dared to put up a poll for presidents in my blog, which I am guessing only people from India voted 🙂 R will become normal if he becomes a citizen.

    Lekhni: I highly doubt that “normalization” will happen 🙂

Leave a Reply

