Awards, laundry and elephant grass

I have spent the last ten days in the wilderness – mainly Glacier, Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks.? This blog has remained unusually silent in the meantime.

On my return, I empty my bags and discover a mountain of laundry that looks like I must have brought home a grizzly bear.? There’s more – the house looks like it’s been ransacked by a sloppy but finicky burglar (you know, the kind who finally decides that nothing in the house meets his high standards).? The lawn looks like it hides a few elephants or tigers.

R takes one look at the house and decides to get on the next plane out of the city.? There is a strategically timed conference to attend.? “Enjoy the cleaning! You love cleaning anyway, right?”, he says and quickly drives off.

At least he will have to mow that elephant grass when he returns.? Just in case it hasn’t grown tall enough, maybe I should set the sprinklers to turn on thrice a day.? And also pray for rain 😛

The house welcomes me back – empty, cluttered.

There has to be a bright side, I think as I check my blog.? And there is.

I have received awards – or rather one award, from three people ! ? Thanks, (in chronological order) Mystic Margarita, Mad Momma and Amrutha 🙂

This award is for blogs whose content and/or design are brilliant as well as creative.
The purpose of the prize is to promote as many blogs as possible in the blogosphere.

The rules :

1.? When you receive the prize you must write a post showing it,
together with the name of who has given it to you, and link them back

2. Choose a minimum of 7 blogs (or even more) that you find brilliant
in their content or design.

3. Show their names and links and leave them a comment informing they
were prized with ?Brilliant Weblog.

4. Show a picture of those who awarded you and those you give the prize
(optional).

5. And then we pass it on!

What I found interesting is that each awardor (is that what you call award-givers?) likes a different category of posts:

Mystic Margarita says “From yummy rasgulla recipes to dissecting long-winded Indian names, this talented lady does it all with great elan!”

Mad Momma doesn’t say what she likes in my blog, but I suspect it’s the Opinion posts.

Amrutha says “I also like her brave attempts at what she calls cooking. I don’t know how she does it, but she somehow manages to make the dishes look good.” You can see she hasn’t yet mustered the courage to try my? what-I-call-recipes 😉

Now I am supposed to award this award to seven other bloggers.?? Not seventeen, or seventy, just seven.

I take a quick look at my feedreader to make sure I am not awarding the award to someone who has already received it.? That is when I discover that most of the blogosphere (at least the part I read) has already received the award:)? I also suspect that those bloggers who haven’t received the blog in recent days must have received it a long time ago.

That’s not surprising, for I do think all the blogs I read are great – that’s why I read them, obviously.

So I’d like to give out the award to all my readers – this award is for all of you.? Two reasons – I do read your blogs, and they are all great. And your interaction in this blog, the comments here, are what makes this blog’s content good.

Thanks!

19 thoughts on “Awards, laundry and elephant grass

  1. Hi, welcome back.
    Yes, you are right in that everybody has now got a Brilliante Blog award, so I suggest that we, henceforth, only award it to those who do NOT have blogs.
    Alternatively, for a period of six months, let us trade insults instead of awards: “Lousiest Blog”, “Sleepiest Blog”, and so on.

    Lekhni: I am all for your first suggestion. As for your second suggestion, I suspect it might lead to my blog hogging all those awards 😉

  2. At least he will have to mow that elephant grass when he returns. Just in case it hasn?t grown tall enough, maybe I should set the sprinklers to turn on thrice a day. And also pray for rain – Ha! Sadist!! 😛

    You write lovely – period! 🙂

    Lekhni: Thanku, thanku 🙂

  3. get some fertilizers also for good measure. convinient conferences always. bah.

    congratulations on award. incidentally was planning to give you this once i got round to posting the thank you. ah well.

    Lekhni: Good idea..maybe I will strategically sprinkle a few areas of the front yard 😉
    Thanks! (And I was going to award you, but realized you had received one anyway)

  4. Hi,

    I am Richa from SiliconIndia. I am also an avid blogger for a while now and participating actively in Indian blogosphere. I read your blog posting and found them very interesting and informative. We would love to see a copy of your blogs posted here, whenever you are posting it on blogger.com. Here are some of the benefits of posting your blogs here:

    We have a strong community of 1 Million professionals
    Best blogs of 2008 to be published in a book “SiliconIndia bLoG PrinT”
    Best blog to be printed in SliconIndia & SmartTechie magazines each month
    Chance to be featured on homepage everyday
    There are 10,000 active bloggers who participate in active blogging

    We appreciate your community initiative here and in helping build a more powerful India! Also, if you have any ideas or want to volunteer to help for SiliconIndia, we would be more than excited to get your help. Pls mail me back at richa@siliconindia.com with your suggestions and feedback.

    Richa
    Blog Editor ? SiliconIndia

  5. Congrats for the award!! and wow! stay in wilderness sounds cool. Also happy cleaning 🙂

    Lekhni: Thanks ! The stay in the wilderness was very cool (especially since I didn’t live in a tent – I love my beds and hot showers :))

  6. Welcome Back! Actually, I guess it should be easier to clean up without the-man-with-a-zillion-shoes around!
    And I like your idea of watering the grass:)
    Such a lovely welcome for the man:)
    And your blog is always a pleasure to read, Lekhni.
    Most deserving of the award:)

    Lekhni: You are right, it is easier to clean up when one’s alone 🙂 (You speak from experience? 😛 )
    Thanks for the kind words 😀

  7. hmm…

    I included a link in my comment, I guess it was marked as spam… So link-free congratulations! from my part

    Lekhni: I am sorry that happened – I de-spammed your last comment. Based on my settings, just one link does not make a comment spam. I am not sure why Akismet was hyperactive.

  8. Congrats !! I love your posts ..all of them honest !! 🙂

    especially those cooking ones how do you manage them 😛

    Lekhni: Thanks 🙂 The cooking ones write themselves 😉

  9. Congratulations on the award – well deserved!
    Now it’s back to the grind, huh? Happy cleaning, and yes, it’s far better doing it alone than with a “helpful” spouse!
    Kamini.

    Lekhni: Thanks! Yes, back to the grind and the absence of the helpful spouse was helpful 🙂

  10. 😛 Is the laundry done?

    I HATE doing laundry. Even with washing machines, who folds clothes? I hate anything to do with clothes. Closet cleaning, laundry, all this 😦

    Lekhni: Pretty much. Yes, the inventor of the clothes-folding machine is guaranteed to become a multi-billionaire 😀

  11. Oh so much cleaning to do!! are u Monica (of FRIENDS fame) type??
    Congrats and thanks!! 😉

    Lekhni: Well, I am not obsessive about cleaning (I know there wouldn’t be enough hours in the day if I were) but there is only so much clutter one can stand 😦

  12. Congrats on the award! And glad you’re back from your vacation( Phew, I started imagining all sorts of horror scenarios, such as Lekhni passed out in front of her computer with noone to call 911 for assistance, and whether I needed to get on the case pronto!)

    Lekhni: I knew from reading your blog that you have a vivid imagination, and this is just additional proof 🙂 Such a scene is quite possible, though, given the hours I find myself chained to the computer 😛

  13. You truly deserve the awards and I will be a stiff competition for the lazy / sleepy blog awards – Beware 🙂

    Lekhni: Thanks 🙂 That will be one interesting competition 😉

Leave a Reply

