Haiku for everyday life

Trying my hand at haikus, after the last tag.? I have stuck to the traditional 5 syllable-7 syllable-5 syllable format, though it looks like I can also compose a haiku with 17 syllables in any other combination.

The car ahead spun
slowly in the snow. Rush hour.
She was glad to flee.

***

Six minutes before
the week’s laundry finishes.
She can check her blog.

***

Wimbledon matches
bring back memories of black
and white TV sets.

***

Monsoon rain brings frogs,
croaking all night, power cuts
Keep her awake too.

8 thoughts on “Haiku for everyday life

  1. Technically, what you’ve written is not haiku, which has rules far more rigid than just 5-7-5 ‘onji’. There’s the ‘kireji’, which we don’t use in English because the concept of a ‘cutting word’ doesn’t exist. The ‘kigo’, or ‘season word’ is more critical; it is quintessential to the haiku. Perhaps even more so than the 17 syllables, which result in much longer poetry in English than in Japanese. 5-7-5 poetry that do not contain kigo or kireji are known as senryu.

  2. Thanks for that tip. I didn’t know any of that, and I was quite horrified to find my haikus turning into senryus.
    So I went online to find out more about this elusive kigo that will change my low-born senryus into twice-born haikus. I am happy to report that I found this tutorial, in a website named “Haiku for people”. (Who else writes haiku? Goats?)
    I am glad I found the “people” version. It says that a kigo is basically any word that describes the season in which the haiku is set. So I am happy to report that 3 out of 4 of my verses are haikus – “snow”, “Wimbledon” and “monsoon” take care of that. Quite unintentional of course. The fourth verse is possibly the goat version.

  3. Lekhni: You may like to read the comment by Vivek Khadpekar on my post with the atrocious haiku. More enlightening. Worth writing a ‘Haiku for dummies: a cross-cultural perspective’ type of post for ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I loved the Gujarati haiku he has quoted. He does seem to advocate the more lax “17 syllables in any 3 lines” approach. Certainly, this calls for more research and a “haiku for dummies” post ๐Ÿ™‚ Are you writing it?

  5. Vijay: You should. Would love to read yours.

    kalafudra: That’s a good one. You are right about the not-making-sense part – I did read some haikus yesterday which did not make much sense to me. Like this one by Ryunosuke Akutagawa. You’d think he was making fun of haikus:
    Sick and feverish
    Glimpse of cherry blossoms
    Still shivering.

Leave a Reply

