All tweaking is natural

I have been spending a lot of time making little tweaks to my new blog.? Not that this is anything new for me – every time I finish a blog post and hit “Publish”, I will immediately think of several tiny changes I could have made that, in my opinion, would have made the blog post somehow dramatically better.

I am sure we have all spent time formatting Word documents to get the right look, or format numbers on Excel sheets so the numbers have 2 decimal points, or that PowerPoint presentations so that text box is just the right size… I am always convinced that all those tiny changes add up to a huge amount of difference in the end.

But it struck me today – isn’t Evolution the same thing?? All those random genetic mutations that somehow change dinosaurs to birds, isn’t it just Nature trying to tweak a job that is already quite finished, and ending up with a much improved (to our eyes atleast) result?

5 thoughts on “All tweaking is natural

  1. or format numbers on Excel sheets..

    The accountants at Enron will be happy to know their work was really evolution πŸ™‚

  2. If evolution is nature’s way of tweaking us for improvement, how come there is a George Bush way after an Abraham Lincoln? Urrrmmm… does this mean Nature too resort to “trial and error” method? πŸ˜€

  3. km: Ah, but those guys found evolution too slow! So they decided that creating completely new creatures was the way to go πŸ˜‰

    Srivalli: You don’t agree?

    A Cynic in Wonderland: No doubt, that’s exactly what we are supposed to think πŸ˜›

    Kima: For that matter, I am sure the dolphins are wondering why Man was created after them πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

