Old and brown

I wish I had met you before,
I would have fallen in love with you.
I wish I had met you when
your skin was glowing rosy red.

Now your color is closer to brown
and the freshness has long gone.
I don’t dislike darker skin
but I dislike it on you.

I wish I had met you before,
I’d have taken you home to my mother.
She would have loved you, I’m sure
Now you look too old for me.

I can pick and choose women
I do that frequently
I go to “see” women
and then I reject them.

They lack the perfect height, I’ll say
Or form, or flawless skin.
Sometimes I just reject at whim.
Do I need reasons? Am I not King?

I may be an imperfect man,
But I am still a Man.
So I deserve a perfect woman,
Don’t you agree with me?

Yes, I demand perfection,
and you fall short.
Why should I pick you?
What rights do you have?

I can be cruel to women
And no one will ever object
But you are not even a woman,
You.. are just an apple.

13 thoughts on “Old and brown

  1. nehavish: Thanks πŸ™‚

    tabula rasa: Isn’t that characterization – the objectification – exactly what I am talking about ? 😦 How about this – if women are fruit, are men fruitcakes? πŸ˜‰

    Kamini: πŸ™‚

    Candadai Tirumalai: Is this the part you are referring to? Rejecting on a whim:
    For all
    That struck the earth,
    No matter if not bruised or spiked with stubble,
    Went surely to the cider-apple heap
    As of no worth.

  2. hmm. in my reading it wasn’t the person that was forbidden but the act.

    and no, if one sticks to that analogy men aren’t fruitcakes since it was a woman who was fashioned from a part of a man.

  3. Lekhni: I was certainly thinking of those lines in Frost but of the effect of the whole poem as well.
    Philip Larkin wrote an entirely different kind of poem about an apple — or rather its core– in “As Bad As A Mile”. After all, in the Western intellectual and religious tradition a great deal hangs on the “original” apple, John Milton’s “Paradise Lost” being a poetic masterpiece: the forbidden fruit “tabula rasa” referred to.

  4. tabula rasa: I guess you can’t make fruit from fruitcakes. But I don’t like the whole idea of Adam’s rib anyway. You would think Eve was actually fashioned out of Adam’s brain, if anything πŸ˜‰

    Srivalli: Thanks πŸ™‚ But isn’t it sad how the analogy is so appropriate 😦

    mango juice: Hmm..perhaps green apples are like Elphaba (the green witch in Wicked), portrayed as wicked even though they are really the nicest.

    Candadai Tirumalai: Yes, the whole poem is good. I like the way Frost takes an everyday activity – like watching snow or picking apples, and turns into a profound thought on life.

Leave a Reply

