Dr. Brother

I went to the hospital when he was born,
He looked so tiny, so forlorn.
We grew up together, and we fought
Like any set of siblings ought.

Over the years, I’ve watched him grow
With eyes of pride, for he’s my bro
Soon, he was in university
And not any old one, but IIT.

More years passed, and one fine day
He set his foot on foreign clay
But you know how sisters are
They will hound you from afar.

He called me up at lunch today
With misty eyes, I heard him say
“Hey, I just defended”
“my Ph.D. has finally ended!”

We have a doctor in the house!
That same kid we once called “mouse”!
How old that little kid has grown
Yes, I know, the time has flown.

Now he’s got his doctorate
He’s moving to work in another state.
I waited long years for this day
I hoped and wished, and I did pray.

Tonight I shall celebrate
With cake and seven candles bright –
One for each year of his Ph.D.
It’s taken all that long, you see!

Still, I am sad to see him go
Though it’s good for him, I know..
I sit and watch my lunch grow cold
And I wonder why I feel so old.

9 thoughts on “Dr. Brother

  1. I too did a Ph. D. once, back in the 1960s, but since I had begun full-time teaching just as I began my dissertation, it took me longer than I would have liked. In the later years I devised this formulaic reply to those who asked about my thesis, “I am a year closer to finishing it than I was when I started.” Long after I got my Ph. D. I had the occasional nightmare that it was still to be completed.

  2. Thanks to all of you for your congrats and best wishes! Your wishes will be passed on.

    Me: Yes, he did get an M.S. as well.

    Candadai Tirumalai: Thanks for sharing. These things do seem to take quite long, and one wishes there was a degree just for fielding the questions along the way!

  3. That was beautiful I don’t have a bro and Ive longed for one, and am sure if I did have one, I’d have felt the same way.

    Nice verse 🙂

Leave a Reply

